sahil
×
  • Premium Ingredients
  • Certified Kosher
  • Nationwide Shipping
  • Premium Ingredients
  • Certified Kosher
  • Nationwide Shipping

Is Beef Jerky Gluten Free

Is beef jerky gluten free - holy jerky

 

Fortunately, science keeps evolving. And as more discoveries are made, the awareness of healthy eating grows. The result: more dietary restrictions. But health is important, and meal constraints appear to be a small price to pay.

Perhaps you've recently discovered that gluten isn't beneficial to your body and you should stay away from it. And now you're wondering, why shouldn't I take gluten? Or, is beef jerky gluten free? You're in the right place. We'll be addressing these topics, and by the time you finish reading this article, you'll be able to answer the question "is beef jerky gluten free?" with confidence.

Let's start by discussing what gluten is and what foods you would typically find it in.

What is Gluten

Gluten is a family of storage proteins present in cereal grains and wheat. It is composed of two proteins: prolamine and glutelin. Gluten is responsible for the elastic dough texture and serves a couple of beneficial binding functions in food. In bread, it forms an elastic network in the dough. This network stretches and traps air or gas, causing the bread to rise.

Gluten is also responsible for the subtle chewy nature of grain-sourced foods. The nature of gluten makes it very handy in the food processing industry, and it's often used to boost food moisture retention and achieve the correct texture.

Foods that Contain Gluten

Gluten may be found in a wide variety of whole and processed foods, including: whole wheat, wheat bran, barley, rye, triticale, spelt, Kamut, cracked wheat, matzo, mir, crackers, bread, breadcrumbs, pasta, seitan, wheat-containing soba noodles, farro, semolina, bulgur, farina, einkorn, durum, wheat germ, some veggie burgers and other meat substitutes, cookies, pastries, barley malt, malt vinegar, soy sauce, certain salad dressings, sauces or gravies thickened with flour, bouillon and some broths, certain spice blends, flavored chips, beer, certain kinds of wine and liquor, some processed meats.

Why Should You Avoid Gluten if it Had so Many Advantages?

Most people don't have a problem eating gluten. However, some people, especially those with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity, have to have a gluten-free diet according to the doctor's orders.

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that is triggered in response to gluten.

Gluten-free diets have also grown in popularity in recent times due to the increasing awareness of gluten-related disorders.

To Go Gluten-Free or Not?

If you have celiac disease, dermatitis herpetiformis, or gluten sensitivity, you should avoid gluten completely.

If you have no preexisting medical condition triggered by gluten consumption, then taking gluten is not health-threatening to you. However, regardless of how healthy you are now, I do not recommend eating too much gluten. For instance, watch your bread intake.

What Should I Eat on a Gluten-Free Diet?

If you're on a gluten-free diet, consuming natural foods that do not contain gluten is a great way to start. Try:

  1. Fresh fruits and vegetables

Fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten-free and safe for consumption, provided you're not medically advised to avoid certain fruits. However, note that although fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten-free, fruit drinks and processed vegetables are not necessarily gluten-free. After all, gluten is used as a thickening agent in the food processing industry.

  1. Natural proteins

Most fresh, unprocessed, and unflavored proteins in nature come without gluten. Thus, they are safe for consumption. Note, however, that the same doesn't go for processed proteins.

  1. Dairy products

Most unflavored dairy products naturally come gluten-free. If you're getting a canned product that's undergone processing, be sure to check the label to ensure you're getting a gluten-free product.

Is Beef Jerky Gluten-Free?

Now that you have a better understanding of gluten and what foods you can usually find it in, you will be happy to know the answer to your question: Is beef jerky gluten free? 

Not all beef jerky is made the same, and though it's not wheat, barley, or rye, some beef jerky can contain gluten. So, be sure to check the label or ingredient list to determine whether or not the beef jerky contains gluten. In our case, our entire beef jerky selection is gluten-free except for the teriyaki-flavored beef jerky.

Final Thoughts

Conclusively, sticking to a gluten-free diet could be a tad bit difficult since many frequently consumed foods contain gluten. Many people consider bread as the primary source of gluten and believe staying away from bread is enough to cut down on gluten consumption. But, this is not the case. Gluten is found in most grains and is a common denominator in many processed foods. Thus, going gluten-free would mean sacrificing a great deal of processed foods and grains. However, with our specially made gluten-free beef jerky, you need not sacrifice flavor for health.


Older Post Newer Post